Seeking Public Input….

As all of you know, trash is picked up on Monday’s now. In Ward I the trash truck comes very early, before 7:00 a.m.

I forgot to pull the trash out to the curb last night and awoke to the sound of the trash truck making its rounds. Looking out the window I realized that he had already picked the trash up on my street. 

A while later I was thinking, “I hope this isn’t an indication of what the rest of the week is going to be like”, when I saw the trash truck heading down Opossum Creek Road, so I stepped out and flagged it down. He backed the truck up and before I could say , “Thank You”, the guy starts yelling at me , “If you’re ever late again, I won’t back up for you!”

Fair enough.  After all I was late pulling it out, but then again it is the first time that I have ever been late pulling it out and even though I am an elected official , I am also a customer.

If the driver doesn’t want to back up and get my trash because I’m late, that’s fine, but if he does choose to back up, I don’t deserve to be screamed at.

So I’m wondering, are there any other citizens out there who have had similar experiences with Waste Management?

If so, leave a comment on the blog or email me at: mobushwhacker@yahoo.com

Clint E. Lacy

Alderman, Ward I, Marble Hill

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Seeking Public Input….”

  1. Mary Says:

    Never had a problem, but then, seldom forget to put out the trash on Sunday nights (was hard to remember the day change at first).

    Not good that you were screamed at, but … if I had to get up at something like 5:00 a.m. to run a trash route, I’d probably be in a bad mood, too. Just a little levity, Clint! 😉

    While I’m here–Have you ever checked with other municipalities about how many aldermen/council members they have? Everywhere I’ve lived, there was an uneven number (so there wouldn’t be a ‘draw’ in the voting). Does Marble Hill’s mayor have the right to vote in the case of a ‘tie?’

  2. Clint Lacy Says:

    Mary,

    Most of the surrounding towns have the same number of aldermen. With the exception of Oran, which has 8 , I believe.

    Our mayor does have the right / authority to break a tie.

Leave a Reply

